Ladies and Gentlemen, shuffle up and deal!

The summer is just about over and the first day of classes is right around the corner. I certainly hope your summer was a restful one filled with plenty of professional development mixed in along the way. As the school year begins and the training of new faculty and returning faculty are high on my “to do” list, I have to remind myself that not everybody is at the same place when it comes to technology and its integration into the classroom. I have known this certainly in my role as a PD resource for our faculty but have made a point of actively thinking about it before I begin my first meeting or training session. A couple of items crossed my Twitter stream in the past few days that were good reminders as well.

Are You a Technophobe or a Technophile in the Classroom? is a nice little blog piece posted on the ASCD website that was a good reminder.

Another item I ran across on the ipad4schools website was New Year: iPad First 5? While the post is about iPads in particular, I think the concept translates to any technology integration.

Just a few reminders for those of us who are point people in training of faculty and are on the “technophilic” end of the spectrum.

Thoughts? I welcome comments or feedback.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *